From Firm Roots.

tree

 

“For there is hope for a tree, When it is cut down, that it will sprout again, And its shoots will not fail. “Though its roots grow old in the ground And its stump dies in the dry soil, At the scent of water it will flourish And put forth sprigs like a plant.  Job 14:7-9

      Today is a difficult day. Despite the beautiful weather outside, I have not been able to get off of the couch. I woke up this morning, managed to grab a muffin and some juice for my two year old, turn on bubble guppies, and have been here ever since. 

   I wasn’t planning on writing today. Feeling like this…. not only did I have no idea what to write, I didn’t feel like I had the right to write. I thought how dare I sit here and try to share my faith, when I am struggling today to convince myself of it. Then as I was sitting here..staring at the same wall I have been all morning, through my teary eyes I saw it.

  It was a canvas. A little craft the girls and I had done to put with our father’s day gift for my husband. It’s a tree with mine and the three girls hand prints on it. Under the tree is a quote that says, ” From firm roots, grow beautiful leaves.” As I stared at it for a moment I thought about how God is a lot like that.

   That God is my firm roots. He is the base to my everything. That although I am devastated beyond words he is still there. Through my pain he is creating beautiful things…..not only within me but also within others. Even though right now it feels like it, my story is not over. There are so many things he is waiting to reveal to me.

  So as I sit here today. Pondering over the last four weeks. Clinging onto just the teeniest amount of hope I can manage. Trying to stay afloat, while I feel like I am drowning. I take comfort in knowing that my God….can walk on water.

 

3 thoughts on “From Firm Roots.

Leave a Reply

