Today I Cried For Her.

today    

Rejoice with them that do rejoice, and weep with them that weep. -Romans 12: 15

    Today…exactly two months since Audreys death, I found myself sitting in the same funeral home where we had planned her funeral. Today I cried not only for me, but for another mama. Another mama that feels the same pain,  and the same torturous heartbreak that I feel.

  Before arriving there this morning I told myself that regardless of the pain it was going to bring back up, today would not be about me. That today another family was losing a child. That another mother was saying goodbye to her son. This son was twenty-five. All I could think about was how hard this was going to be for her. After all it is extremely hard when you have two and a half months of memories, think of all the memories you can make in twenty-five years.

    Once I sat down I immediately saw her. From that moment on, my heart broke for a woman I had never met. A woman that I was now connected to in a way that no one wants to be. I watched her as she floated around from person to person, giving them hugs and thanking them for being there. Watching her manage a smile when someone asked her how she was doing. Before this I would have wondered how she could smile on a day like that. I would have wondered because I didn’t know.

   Before my daughters passing I didn’t know how heart breaking a child loss really was. The reason that I always thought I could never imagine the pain is because it is unimaginable. I didn’t realize how strong you can really be. How a fake smile on the outside goes with the complete numbness on the inside, or that a real smile or laugh with a loved one is a one second relief from the deep pain that is continually tearing you apart. Today I finally knew, I finally got it….because I’ve been there.

   Today I cried, but I didn’t cry for me. I cried for her. I cried for the days she has just had to encounter, and for the days that lay ahead. I cried for the never ending days and the sleepless nights to come, and for the piece of her heart that will now remain missing. 

   This morning a new woman, a woman that I have never met entered my heart. She is someone who will be in my prays and I hope in yours. This morning as I again found myself asking why another mother had to endure such a loss as this… I found myself clinging to my faith, and to hope. The same faith and hope that has guided me this far.

    As I walked out of the service this morning my prayer for her is and will continue to be, that she too can find that same hope in the days to come.

signature

 

4 thoughts on “Today I Cried For Her.

  1. You are an amazing and inspiring woman Sarah. We have never met but we have a mutual friend and I have been crying for you, my dear, for all the memories you won’t have with your girls. You should have introduced yourself to the Mama today as I am sure she would have loved to know she wasn’t alone in her struggles to come. Connecting with someone on that level will be a very special bond indeed and only a bond that a few will ever understand. God bless you Sarah, and the Mama from today ❤ xo

    Like

  2. This club is horrible. It is amazing the strength we have when people are looking and the way we crumble behind closed doors. Whether a child is young or old the loss is the same. I will pray for you and this new broken mom

    Like

Leave a Reply

